D.A BALFOUR PARK

by The Journelia

1b

Hey there!

Starting a new life in a new country, a new city, moving to a new home, etc., is one of these experiences that automatically stimulate our curiosity for discovering as many exciting and cool places as possible.

At this point, we could even buy some kind of ‘tourist guide book’ whose readers are, of course, people who don’t like touristic areas and want to discover ONLY the coolest and most exclusive secret spots.I know…buying a ‘tourist book’ to avoid touristic areas sounds a little bit ironic, right?

We look for trendy restaurants, the latest art exhibitions, emblematic historical monuments to visit…And when our list of ‘must-to-go’ starts to get shorter, we might experience some guilt feeling: ‘OMG!I missed that temporary photography workshop at Ryerson University! I am wasting my time!’ That thought is just a HUGE MISTAKE! Either discovering new cities or our own hometown, we should appreciate what we have closer. You’ll never know! Maybe our neighborhood has something to surprise us with…!

That’s exactly what happened to me this past weekend! I had no especial plans so I decided to take a walk. Just a few meters far from my home I found David A. Balfour Park which is a beautiful 20.5 hectare park near Yonge Street and St. Clair Avenue West that features a large open space. In a couple of steps I was no longer on Yonge Street – one of the main arteries of Toronto – but in a dense green forest. The perfect atmosphere for reading a good book, or chatting with a friend.

  I hope you like it!

2

3

4

5

6

7

 

Besos, Celia.

